Must to Know About 5 Treaties between India and Pakistan

Unknown  |  at  9:00 AM  |   |  No comments

The Non-nuclear aggression agreement is a bilateral and nuclear weapons control treaty between the two South Asian states, India and Pakistan, on the reduction (or limitation) of nuclear arms and pledged not to attack or assist foreign powers to attack on each's nuclear installations and facilities. The treaty was drafted in 1988, and signed by the Prime Minister Benazir Bhutto and her Indian counterparts, Rajiv Gandhi on 21 December 1988; it entered into force on January 1991.


The Delhi Agreement was a trilateral agreement signed between India, Pakistan and Bangladesh on 28 August 1973; and ratified only by India and Pakistan. It allowed the repatriation of prisoners of war and interned officials held in the three countries after the 1971 Bangladesh Liberation War.


The Karachi Agreement was a cease-fire agreement signed by Military Representatives of India and Pakistan on the 27th of July 1949. The signatories to the Karachi agreement were: Satyawant Mallannah Shrinagesh, Indian Army Chief and J. Cawthorn, Major General, Pakistan, Hernando Samper and M. Delvoie, United Nations Commission for India and Pakistan. It established a cease-fire line which could be monitored by observers from the United Nations.


The Simla Agreement was signed between India and Pakistan on 2 July 1972 in Simla, the capital city of Indian state of Himachal Pradesh. It followed from the Bangladesh Liberation war in 1971 that led to the independence of Bangladesh, which was earlier known as East Pakistan and was part of the territory of Pakistan. India entered the war as an ally of Bangladesh which transformed the war into an Indo-Pakistani War of 1971. The agreement was ratified by the Parliaments of both the nations in same year.


The Indus Waters Treaty is a water-distribution treaty between India and Pakistan, brokered by the World Bank. The treaty was signed in Karachi on September 19, 1960 by Indian PM Jawaharlal Nehru and President of Pakistan Ayub Khan. According to this agreement, control over the three "eastern" rivers — the Beas, Ravi and Sutlej — was given to India and the three "western" rivers — the Indus, Chenab and Jhelum — to Pakistan.



Latest General Knowledge

News & Current Affairs

General Knowledge Questions Answers

© 2016-17 Blog. WP Mythemeshop Converted by Bloggertheme9